Junior Civic League to award over $13,000 in Scholarships at their Annual Brunch


Boardman, OH - The Junior Civic League will present college scholarships to nine local high school graduates at their annual Scholarship Brunch, on Saturday, June 25, 2016 at 11:00am, at Holiday Day Inn-South, 7410 South Ave. Boardman, OH. Special guest speaker for the event is Rev. Dr. Lewis W. Macklin II. Rev. Dr. Macklin is the lead pastor of Holy Trinity Missionary Baptist Church. In addition to the ministry, Rev. Dr. Macklin has served as president of local Boards, and as chairperson of district organizations. He has been recognized for community leadership by the YSU Office of Diversity. He is the co-convener emeritus of the Rev. Martin Luther King Planning Committee and current chairman of the African American Male Wellness Walk of the Mahoning Valley. Rev. Dr. Macklin graduated from Woodrow Wilson High School and was a Junior Civic League Scholarship Recipient in 1984. He is a proud alumnus of Youngstown State University, receiving a Bachelor of Arts degree with a concentration in Gerontology. He obtained his Master of Arts degree matriculating from the Southern Bible Seminary & Institute, Augusta, GA and was conferred doctoral degree from the same institution in 2010.

The Scholarship Brunch program will include a praise dance by the Daughters of Bethel and the installation of the 2016-2018 Junior Civic League officers. Tickets are $20.00.

Rev. Dr. Lewis Macklin IIPhoto: Speaker – Rev. Dr. Lewis Macklin II
Mrs. Frances CurdPhoto: 2016-2018 JCL President – Mrs. Frances Curd

Since its inception, the Junior Civic League has awarded over $538,800.00 in scholarships to high school students selected on the basis of academic achievement, financial need, community involvement, and personal qualities and strengths. This year, Cinderella Ball Scholarships will be awarded to: Myra Corley, Boardman High School- “Miss Cinderella” $2,500, Courtney Teague, Ursuline High School- 1st Attendant, $1,800, and Seaven Weaver, Austintown Fitch High School- 2nd Attendant, $1,500. Furthermore, five other recipients will be awarded a $1,500 scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic years. They are as follows: Carlos Herriott II and Marquett Samuels; Austintown Fitch High School, Emma Mitchell, Heaven Pough, and Ja-Mira Smith; Warren G. Harding High School.

Furthermore, the Junior Civic League will install the following officers: Frances Curd, President, Carla Baldwin, Vice President, Sylvia Rupert, Treasurer, Jeannine Baker, Financial Secretary, Bea Baker, Recording Secretary, Trina McCain, Corresponding Secretary, Jenita Gillespie, Parliamentarian, Jerrine King, Chaplain and Christine Hennings, Historian, Veronica Crafter-Srinivasan, Public Relations/Reporter.

Please contact Mrs. Frances Curd at (330) 758-4195 for tickets. For more information regarding the Junior Civic League and its mission, please contact us.

Back to News