Cinderella Ball 2018


The Junior Civic League of Youngstown crowned Kaia Joi Anderson Miss Cinderella 2018 during its 63rd Annual Cinderella Ball on Friday, November 23, 2018 at Mr. Anthony’s Banquet Center. This year's theme was “Fairy Tales Do Come True.”. Our theme “Fairy Tales Do Come True” reflects the vision of the Junior Civic League’s founding members over 66 years ago.

The court includes: 1st Attendant Autumn Breyonna Stanford, Boardman High School, escorted by Melvin Tyriese Neail, Valley Christian High School and 2nd Attendant Asia Lynn Hobbs, Ursuline High School, escorted by Jordon Michael Weatherly, Campbell Memorial High School.

Kaia is the daughter of Dawne C. Anderson and Derrick H. Anderson. Her grandparents are: the late Warren William Anderson, Lucille Pickard, William Meeks III and Debra Shivers. Kaia attends Youngstown Rayen Early College. Her honors and activities include: 2018 Homecoming Queen, Vice President of the Class of 2019, Dances with Harambee of Youngstown Inc., Purpose, Plan, Power (P3) Youth Empowerment Group, MCTC Youth Force Club, Liturgical Dance & Choir Member –Jerusalem Baptist Church. Kaia attends Jerusalem Baptist Church. Kaia plans to attend Central State University and Major in Business Administration. Her motivational quote is “My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.” Maya Angelou. She was presented by her dad Derrick Anderson and her escort was Darryl Smith Jr., Girard High School.

The three winners will be awarded scholarships in June at the Junior Civic League Scholarship luncheon. Kaia will receive a $2,500 scholarship; Autumn, a $1,800 scholarship; and Asia, a $1,500 scholarship.

Sixteen Debutantes were presented during the Ball, along with their escorts who represent high schools in Mahoning and Trumbull Counties.

The Debutantes were: Kaia Anderson, Youngstown Early College; Norrine Burch, Ursuline High School; Aunnasia Calhoun, Cardinal Mooney High School; Geordyn Conne, Ursuline High School; Desirae Hairston, Ursuline High School; Keemyah Hawkins, Youngstown Early College; Asia Hobbs, Ursuline High School; Alaiya Jones, Struthers High School; Nina King (Honorary Debutante), Campbell Memorial High School; Sonya Lenoir, Youngstown Early College; Kaliyah Long, Mahoning County Career and Technical Center; JaNyaha McCaskill, Austintown Fitch High School; Sarah Ross, Liberty High School; Gianna Schroeder, Ursuline High School; Autumn Stanford, Boardman High School; and Briana Stevens, Ursuline High School.

Their Escorts were: Daryl Smith, Jr., Girard High School; Jarred Allen, Ursuline High School; Isaiah Cochrane, Cardinal Mooney High School; Kristopher Winford, Cardinal Mooney High School; Zacharia Simon, Ursuline High School; Kashon Wright, East High School; Jordan Weatherly, Campbell Memorial High School; Blaine Spires, East High School; Keilan Jefferson, Struthers High School; Ezell Brown, Liberty High School; Isaiah Carter, Valley Christian High School; Semaj Williams, East High School; Herbert Davis, Liberty High School; Daivon Jones, Ursuline High School; Melvin Neail, Valley Christian High School; Bray Donlow, Hubbard High School. Khalyeo Bonner, Austintown Fitch High School; Kyler Morgan, Ursuline High School; and Kyree Morgan, Ursuline High School served as Pages.

Miss Cinderella 2017, Amber Bowie, also was in attendance and spoke to those assembled as she captivated the 800 guests with her comments. The Michael Austin Project provided music and entertainment as the guests danced until the conclusion of the ball. The Junior Civic League’s next fundraising event is the 8th Annual Mardi Gras, on March 2, 2018 at Avion on the Water.

The league’s scholarship program was developed to support qualified African-American students seeking higher education, and has awarded more than $650,000 to 352 recipients to date. The Cinderella Ball is the sole fundraising event for the scholarship fund.

The Cinderella Ball Chairperson was Charmaine Bracy, Co-Chair, Sylvia Rupert, and JCL President is Jenita J. Gillespie.

For information on the JCL, visit our website

Back to News